Page content relevant to:

    Research Excellence Program 2016 Convergence Grant Winners

    Research Excellence Program
    UConn Health
    Spring 2016

    In partnership with the School of Medicine and the School of Dental Medicine, the Office of the Vice President for Research is pleased to announce the recipients of the Research Excellence Program (REP) Convergence Grants competition for Spring 2016. This year’s competition included 36 proposals at the $50,000 – $75,000 level and 11 proposals at the $76,000 – $100,000 level. Award support totaling $400,000 will be provided to six collaborative faculty projects.

    The REP Convergence Grant Program aims to better position multiple investigator teams to receive external funding by providing seed grants for the development of new or existing areas of research and technology.

    The Spring 2016 REP Convergence Grant Competition awardees are:

    At the $100,000 level:

    Senescence as a Biomarker for Colorectal Cancer Risk

    PI: Christopher Heinen, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine and Department of Molecular Biology and Biophysics; Center for Molecular Medicine

    Daniel W. Rosenberg, PhD,  Department of Medicine and Department of Genetics and Genome Sciences; Center for Molecular Medicine
    Charles Giardina, PhD, Department of Molecular & Cell Biology
    Thomas Devers, MD, Department of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology


    Biomarkers of Renal Injury in Children with Congenital Urinary Anomalies

    PI: Linda Shapiro, PhD, Associate Professor Cell Biology, Director, Center for Vascular Biology

    Fernando Ferrer, MD, Surgery and Cell Biology, Surgeon-in-Chief, CCMC
    Mallika Ghosh, PhD, Center for Vascular Biology
    Miriam Harel, MD, Assistant Professor of Surgery, CCMC
    Miranda Lynch, PhD, Center for Quantitative Medicine
    Cynthia Silva, MD, Assistant Professor of Pediatric Nephrology, CCMC


    At the $50,000 level:

    Development of Translesion Synthesis Inhibitors as Anti-Cancer Drugs

    PI: Dmitry Korzhnev, PhD, Molecular Biology, School of Medicine

    M. Kyle Hadden, PhD, Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Sciences


    Analgesic and Anti-Inflammatory Effects of Dimethyl Sulfoxide in Symptomatic Apical Periodontitis in Mice

    PI: I-Ping Chen, PhD, Assistant Professor, Oral Health and Diagnostic Sciences, School of Dental Medicine

    Kyle Baumbauer, PhD, Neuroscience, School of Nursing
    Pharmacological Inhibition of Mal as a Therapeutic Approach in Lupus

    PI: Andrei Medvedev, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Immunology, School of Medicine

    Santhanam Lakshminarayanan, MD, Department of Rheumatology


    Peripheral Nerve Regeneration Using Ionically Conducting Polymers

    PI: Sangamesh Kumbar, PhD, Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery, Biomedical Engineering, School of Medicine

    Kazunori Hoshino, PhD, Department of Biomedical Engineering

    Sumit Yadav, BDS, MDS, PhD, Department of Craniofacial Sciences, Division of Orthodontics
    Additional information about future REP Convergence Grant Competitions will be announced at a later date and will be posted on the Office of the Vice President for Research website (

    Congratulations to the Spring 2016 REP-UCH Award recipients!


    UConn_research unleashed