NIH Proposal Overview

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and is the nation’s medical research agency. For over a century, NIH has been making important discoveries that improve health and save lives. NIH is comprised of 27 Institutes and Centers. Each has its own specific research agenda, often focusing on particular diseases or body systems. All but three of these Institutes and Centers receive their funding directly from Congress, and administer their own budgets.

NIH and other Public Health Service Agency applications may be submitted through either ASSIST or Workspace. Submission via ASSIST is strongly recommended.


Useful Links:

NIH Website

Program Deadlines

Unsolicited Program Applications – Parent Announcements

NIH Policies and Guidance

NIH Application Guide